I want to remove an older GitHub repository from my profile, but can't find where to do that from GitHub's website.
Have a GitHub repository you no longer need and want to delete? You can remove repositories from GitHub’s repository settings if you’re an admin on that repo. Do note, though, that once you delete a repository, in most cases you cannot restore it.
Once you’re certain you want to delete a repository, click the Settings tab in the right of the repository. Scroll to the bottom of the page to the Danger Zone section, click Delete this repository button, then type the name of the repository and confirm to delete it.
GitHub’s desktop and mobile apps don’t let you delete repositories. Instead, if you’re in the GitHub app, click its View on GitHub button or press the
G shortcut to open your repository online where you can follow the above steps to delete it.
If you use GitHub’s
hub CLI tool, you can delete a repository by entering
hub delete organization/repo in Terminal, replacing
organization/repo with the organization and the repo name, respectively.